How To Become A Plumber Colorado? (Explanation Inside!)

After accumulating two years of experience as a registered apprentice, you may apply for a Residential Plumbers license and pay the licensing and exam fees. After four years of documented experience, you can apply for a Journeyman Plumbers license and pay the license fee. If you are interested in becoming a Registered Plumber, please visit the Plumbing Licensing website for more information.

How long is a plumbing apprenticeship in Colorado?

Four to five years is the average for apprenticeship programs. You must be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED and have at least two years of work experience in a plumbing shop to be considered for the Plumber apprenticeship.

You must also be a U.S. citizen or green card holder. Plumbers, pipefitters, and electricians are among the most sought-after jobs in Denver, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

How do I get a residential plumbing license in Colorado?

You must verify two years (3,400 hours) of practical experience. The minimum of one year of experience in the field of residential plumbing is required by the board in order to qualify for a journeyman plumbing license.

Do you need a permit to install a water heater in Colorado?

The state of Colorado does not require a plumbing license, permit, or inspection for water heating installations and replacements. Water heaters must be installed by a licensed plumbing contractor who is licensed by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE).

What Is Wet Venting In Plumbing? The Best Explanation

The cost of installing a new water system can vary greatly depending on the size of the home and the type of system being installed. The installation time can range from a few weeks to several months depending upon the number of plumbing fixtures and fittings that need to be replaced.

How many apprentices can a master plumber have in Colorado?

Denver job sites can’t have more than three apprentices. This is both state and local law. If you are interested in applying for an apprenticeship in Colorado, please visit the Colorado Department of Labor’s website at

Can I be my own general contractor in Colorado?

Colorado law does not require a person to have a license to work on his or her own home if it is plumbing or electrical. Depending on the project, a person may need local government approval and a permit from the city or county in which the work will be done.

How long does it take to get a building permit in Colorado?

It takes about 4 months to get a building permit when all permit application documents and drawings are ready to submit. Depending on the complexity of the project, ADUs, alterations in a PUD, and variances can add another 2 to 4 months.